Is English in the USA more straight to the point?

Posts230Likes123Joined16/9/2018Location
Native
Spanish
Other English, Italian

I have noticed that at least here in the US they use so many abreviations like asap, DM, IG, DH and more. Even when I studied accounting in English and Spanish I did notice that in English everything was more simplified. Is it that the people in here is more efficient and cut right to the chase. Like when you read a communication in Spanish is usually more adorned but in English is right to the topic. Is it something cultural. What are your thoughts?

-Ari-

Posted 
Posts1630Likes1092Joined18/3/2018LocationBellingham / US
Native
English
Learning German
Other Chinese - Mandarin, French, Japanese, Korean, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, Swahili, Tagalog, Thai

I think English in general, not just in the US, is pretty direct compared to the other languages I've studied. I think Taglish deserves the title of most abbreviations in my list of languages.

In Thailand now. Next up Tanzania and Philippines.

Posted 
Posts0Likes0Joined3/9/2018LocationSkopje / MK
Native
Macedonian
Other Arabic - Gulf, English, French, Spanish, Serbian

I think it might also be a reflection of the dynamic in a society, the general tempo of affairs. I didn't recognize the last three for example from the ones you mentioned, but it might also be concerned with that, like going straight to the point yes, not to waste time. But it's just a perception, and a certain collective desire for organising stuff. Southern cultures are more relaxed, so maybe that also relates to the reason why there are so many abbreviations in the English language or in the US. And English is almost a global language, so depending on the topic, it needs to contain abbreviations to deliver a message. That's my opinion. 

Edited 
Posts230Likes123Joined16/9/2018Location
Native
Spanish
Other English, Italian